Watching CYFSWATCH NZ

In support of CYFSWATCH NZ and the right of Free Speech. First visit to Watching CYFSWATCH NZ? Visit our home page. Please visit our e/group at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/watchingcyfs/

Are the Police the Police, or are CYFS the Police?

Posted by watchingcyfswatchnewzealand on April 19, 2007

As posted on CYFSWATCH NZ

Are the Police the Police, or are CYFS the Police?
Thursday, 08.03.2007, 10:31pm (GMT12)

On the 23rd of November 2005 I wrote to Detective Whiteside, Tauranga Police, asking that he provide me with evidence that he had investigated my complaint against my daughter of assaulting a 13 year old female in her care and neglect by the girls father. My initial complaint to him was by phone during the week ending 19 June 2005. Also to indicate any action taken or not.

On the 28th of November 2005 Mr Whiteside repied;

“On the 28th of November 2005, I received your letter regarding……………………………….,and I take issue with the content of it, which appears to be an attack on my professionalism.”

“Your concerns were forwarded on in the appropriate manner to TAURANGA CYPS, the relevant agency to deal with this”.

Section 15 of the Children, Young Persons and Their Families Act 1989
states;

15 Reporting of ill-treatment or neglect of child or young person

Any person who believes that any child or young person has been, or is likely to be, harmed (whether physically, emotionally, or sexually), ill-treated, abused, neglected, or deprived may report the matter to a Social Worker or a member of the Police.

Section 17 of the Children, Young Persons, and Their Families Act 1989
states;

17 Investigation of report of ill-treatment or neglect of child or young
person

[(1) Where any Social Worker or member of the Police receives a report
pursuant to section 15 of this Act relating to a child or young person,
that Social Worker or member of the Police SHALL, as soon as practicable
after receiving the report, undertake or arrange for the undertaking of
such investigation as may be necessary or desirable into the matters
contained in the report and SHALL, etc

(3) Where any person receives a report pursuant to section 15 of this Act
relating to a child or young person, that person SHALL, as soon as
practicable after–

(a) That report is investigated under section (1) of this section; or

(b) A decision is made not to investigate the report,–

unless it is impracticable or undesirable to do so, inform the person who
made the report whether or not the report has been investigated and, if
so, whether any further action has been taken with respect to it.

I then wrote to Mr Whiteside on the 30th of November 2005 insisting he provide me with the information I had requested.

His letter contained a completely different version of the conversation we had had on the phone and concluded with the following paragraph.

“I must confess to being perplexed as to the reason why you do not want to talk to me in person about the matter. One could be forgiven for thinking that you have “another agenda”.

Once Mr Whiteside had acknowledged in his first letter that I had reported my concerns to him he was duty bound to investigate. Section 15. He did not. There was an assault and the drug “P” was involved. This is not a matter for a Social Worker.

He was duty bound under section 17 to report back to me. He did not.

What I believe happened is Mr Whiteside simply forgot all about my
complaint or report and was embarrassed when I contacted him so turned on
me.

Its not only Social Workers who should be investigated as to their suitability, in my view.

PS: Has Kerre Woodham landed, and has she stopped screaming?

Leave a Reply

 
