Watching CYFSWATCH NZ

In support of CYFSWATCH NZ and the right of Free Speech. First visit to Watching CYFSWATCH NZ? Visit our home page. Please visit our e/group at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/watchingcyfs/

Words fail me.

Posted by watchingcyfswatchnewzealand on April 17, 2007

As posted on CYFSWATCH NZ

Words fail me.
Thursday, 08.03.2007, 02:11pm (GMT12)

Just want to join the growing line of people saying thank you for putting up your site. I’m a 31 year old survivor of CYFS care (back then it was called ‘ward of the state’ dsw etc).

Anyway, a brief over-view for you.

I was born to an elderly alcoholic mother and father, my oldest sister was at the time a heroin/morphine junkie on the methadone programme.

She was 18 when I was born, and had been sexually abused by her paternal grandfather since before her memory could allow.

Little wonder she was an addict.

She had to resort to continuing revolting sex acts with older men her entire life in order to fund her drug habit which was brought about by the intense desire to forget her youth.

See the bitter cycle that ensues.

When I was 5 yrs old, my mother decided she had had enough of questioning about where this child of hers was and threatened my sister with legal action. My sister ran with me for a few weeks but eventually realised it was futile. She reluctantly gave me up to our mother in the face of the police and kidnapping charges.

I spent the next 6 years of my life being sexually abused by my mothers drunken friends and physically abused by her.

I always knew, no matter what, my sister would come back for me. And she did. She spirited me away when I was 11 and we both knew my my mother would be too scared to argue as by that stage I was old enough to stick up for myself, and tell what had happened.

After this time I had tried to run from my mother and was locked up at Weymouth Girls home with children who had been raped by their own fathers and were carrying babies to them.

I have two of my own girls now, and suffer depression, especially after the loss of my sister, who died tragically and suddenly 2 years ago. I will never call those people helpful. The system sucks. It’s a complete tragedy that children have to go on being treated this way.

Yours sincerely,

A hurt little girl who misses her sister.

Leave a Reply

 
